Webbdogs Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Homemade Dog Food October 24, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — hannahcrx @ 12:09

When I want to make my dog food a little more nutritious and also to change things up a bit, I like to create my own concoctions.

I picked up a big bag of long grain rice and about once a week I buy packages of three or four beef soup bones from the grocery store. I boil the bones for about 10 – 15 min., creating a nice beef broth and softening the marrow within the bones. The bones come out at that point and are set aside to cool. In the broth, still boiling, I pour about 4 cups of rice and cover. At this point the bones have cooled enough to let the dogs have as an appetizer. Once most of the broth has been absorbed by the rice I remove it from the heat to cool. At this point I either add kibble to the rice mixture or I add the rice to fresh kibble so it doesn’t sit in the moisture and become soggy.

 

2 Responses to “Homemade Dog Food”

  1. TRAINER Says:

    WHO HAS TIME TO MAKE HOMEMADE DOG FOOD?

    • hannahcrx Says:

      That’s the great thing about beef soup bones, just through them in a pot of water and boil. Sometimes I drain the fat from cooked regular ground beef and pour it on their food. It’s important to allow time for cooling. I don’t do these things all the time because then it may become expected.


Leave a Reply

